My ‘means-end’ reasoning

Over the past two years I have learnt a lot about life, relationships, friendships, depression, anxiety and personal discovery. One thing that I have noticed is that people are going to walk in and out of your life and you are going to walk in and out of people’s lives and only will a very special minority remain. For me, this has been a particularly hard thing to accept. Sometimes I feel abandoned and take it extremely personally. The idea that one day someone can be your entire world and the next they’re just another memory, a stranger again, terrifies me. But now I am discovering how to extract the positives, from these relationships and friendships that didn’t last, and understand that they only lasted for as long as they were supposed to. I guess I did this through a ‘means-end’ reasoning.

Almost every person you meet is merely a means to your own self-discovery and perseverance; the special minority that remain, are the ends that you can share this self-discovery and perseverance with.

The only difficulty is acknowledging that someone you thought to be an ‘end’ is merely just a ‘means’. Each experience, each memory, each person is an element of life which shapes us into who we are meant to be. Experience, that’s all anything ever is.

One thought on “My ‘means-end’ reasoning

Leave a Reply

