Only Those In Fear Brush Mental Illness Under The Carpet

People seem to make a bad habit of brushing what they do not understand and what they fear under the carpet.

Cancer is a pretty scary thing, but that hasn’t been brushed under the carpet and ignored; it’s been continually fought and even today we are still fighting to find the cure.

HIV is a scary thing too, and that too hasn’t been ignored and today we are still fighting to find the cure.

I could sit here all day and write about the illnesses we mean to cure and succeeded in curing. But there’s still one united illness, in one area of the body, which some people still seize to ignore; which some people seize to judge; which some people fear. I am talking about – mental illness.

Watching people stigmatised makes me… There are no words. I have been stigmatised once when I was bullied and laughed at because I self-harmed. Thinking about this now, I feel less anger and more pity. We all should.

Anyone of us can be subject to mental illness. Mental illness is, I believe, very much an evolutionary product. I would never wish mental illness on my worst enemy. Never. But if someone who stigmatised one day became ‘ill’ then they would see how hard it is to control, how it is not a choice and, importantly, how it is completely human to suffer via the mind.

Why isn’t this stigma over? Dead. Finished.

I simply believe it is fear. Fear of what those people do not want to understand. I pity their fear. I want to reverse their ignorance.

It can be done.

Mental health awareness is as important as raising the money to cure cancer.

 

One thought on “Only Those In Fear Brush Mental Illness Under The Carpet

Leave a Reply

